Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top youtube2x Top phone2x 01983 882325 Top email2x Email us Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / Platinum Jubilee Weekend Celebrations : 4th & 5th June 2022
Home / News / Platinum Jubilee Weekend Celebrations : 4th & 5th June 2022

Platinum Jubilee Weekend Celebrations : 4th & 5th June 2022

Published 14:34 on 4 May 2022

What a fabulous weekend of celebrations at RVYC for the Platinum Jubilee!

It was lovely to see so many RVYC members, family and friends enjoying activities on the water and hospitality ashore these last few days.

Our Platinum Jubilee Regatta on the 4 June was not for the faint-hearted with an AP for cruisers, Squibs and fast handicap flown at midday to allow for the wind and sea state to calm.

Martin Harrison and his team did a superb job to get three races run in challenging conditions with the wind finally settling at a steady F4. Rib crews certainly had their work cut out in very lumpy seas.

The Scows and slow handicap fleet were supported by Paul Jennings and his team in the mouth of the creek and with similar sea state and wind conditions a surfing Scow fleet was a unique sight from the Clubhouse and fabulous to watch the racing at close quarters.

Prizegiving and a Regatta BBQ followed with a speech from the Commodore with generous sponsorship support for all podium winners from Mermaid Gin. Prize-winners can be viewed on the website, please click here.

Our huge thanks to IW Distillery and Mermaid Gin for their very generous sponsorship and Regatta prizes.


Cruisers (Walker Log)

  • 1.Orca, Jason Lawrence, Jim and Charlie Holder
  • 2.Stryder, Richard Rae, Graeme Bellingham and Giles Whitby Smith

Squibs (ARTI trophy)

  • 1.Kestrel, Harry White and Matt Whishaw
  • 2.Firecracker 2, Andrew Porteous and Jerry Westbrook
  • 3.Vivacious, Peter Donaldson

Fast Handicap (TST Fast trophy)

  • 1.Ian Osborne
  • 2.Andy Ramsey
  • 3.Bruce Cockerell and Karen Beck

Slow Handicap (TST Slow trophy)

  • 1.Isla Stone

Scows (RVYC Bowl)

  • 1.Dare Barry
  • 2.David Rose
  • 3 Helen Gatehouse

Last updated 10:42 on 8 June 2022

© 2022 Royal Victoria Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager